Off-Broadway Green Alliance




(The above image can be downloaded to sticker paper and placed on your trash bins for greater awareness!)


Off-Broadway Green Alliance

The BGA works beyond Broadway with the larger theatre community in New York City and around the country. In New York, the BGA began working in 2013 with the Off-Broadway League to set up an Off-Broadway Green Committee to explore greening in their community. The Off-Broadway Committee now includes Off-Off-Broadway and Independent Theatres as well.

Off-Broadway has always been known for new and unusual works of theatre performed in smaller theatres (100-499 seats). While these theatres and theatre companies have some different challenges from Broadway, many of the same green initiatives are thriving Off-Broadway.

The committee includes green lighting expert James Bedell; Terry Byrne, General Manager of The Westside Theatre; James Cleveland and Chasmin Hallyburton of Production Core; George Forbes, Executive Director of the Lucille Lortel Foundation; Jerry Homan from the Alliance of Resident Theatres/NY; Jeremy Pickard of Superhero Clubhouse; Nancy Beer and Jeffrey Shubart from the Lucille Lortel Foundation; and Tony Award-winning set designer Donyale Werle.

The Off-Broadway committee’s first initiative was the launch of an Off-Broadway Green Captain program. This ongoing activity quickly included more than 45 Off-Broadway Green Captains using our newly-revised Off-Broadway Green Captain kit. The kit combines elements from our successful Broadway Green Captain kit and additional resources for smaller theatres, with a dual focus on both venue greening and theatre company greening, including green hints for offices. A full list of current Off-Broadway Green Captains can be found below.

The committee held an Off-Broadway Green Design Round Table on October 29, 2013 at the Westside Theatre and is working on developing other workshops. Off-Broadway members also participate in BGA textile and electronic-waste drives held four times a year in Times Square.

If you or someone you know is interested in finding out more, is interested in becoming an Off-Broadway Green Captain, or is interested in joining the BGA Off-Broadway Committee please email

 New York City Theatre Greening Grants:

In 2015, the BGA created a greening grants program and awarded over $7,500 to Off-Broadway, Off-Off-Broadway, and Independent Theatres.

In 2016, the BGA has committed $7,500 to the New York City Theatre Greening Grants which will fund grants of up to $750 each for projects that will increase energy efficiency, conserve resources, or showcase a commitment to green practices in the Off-Broadway, Off-Off-Broadway, and Independent Theatre communities.


Off-Broadway Green Captains:

Theatre Green Captain
(*committee member)
A.R.T./New York Spaces Jerry Homan*
A.R.T./New York Spaces Zach Hollwedel
Ars Nova Burton T. Frey Jr.
Atlantic Theater Michael Wade
Blue Man Group/Astor Show Productions Ariella Knight
CAP21 Matthew Groff
Classic Stage Company Jeff Griffin
Classic Stage Company John C. Hume
Clubbed Thumb Nora DeVeau-Rosen
Daryl Roth Theatre Aaron Thompson
Dixon Place Colleen McCaughey
Elevator Repair Service Sarah Hughes
The Flea Theatre Jim Simpson
Flux Theatre Ensemble August Schulenburg
Laban/Bartenieff Institute Corinne Cappelletti
Lucille Lortel Theater Zebulon Brown
Manhattan Class Company (MCC) Megan Ringeling
Manhattan Theatre Club Lindsey Brooks Sag
National Yiddish Theatre Marci Skolnick
National Yiddish Theatre Jill Goldstein
New World Stages Darren Bluestone*
New York City Center – Stage 1 Blythe Danner
New York Theatre Barn Jason Najjoum
Off Broadway League George Forbes*
Pearl Theatre Company Gary Levinson
Pipeline Theatre Company Meagan Kensil
Present Company (NY Fringe) Kevin Bartlett
Pregones Theater Alvan Colón Lespier
Primary Stages Elliot Fox*
Production Core Productions James Cleveland*
JPR Omni Interests (New York) Josh Parkin-Ring*
JPR Omni Interests (New York) Christin Cato
Public Theater Helen Bennett*
Red Bull Theatre Evan O’Brient
Signature Theatre Company Kara Aghabekian
SITI Company Megan Hanley
Snapple Theatre Center Catherine Russell
TADA! Theater Todd Fliedner
The Bushwick Starr Jeremy Pickard
The Lark Play Development Center Tim O’Donnell
The Lark Play Development Center Megan McClain
Theater 2020 David Fuller
Theater 2020 Judith Jarosz
Westside Theatre Terry Byrne*
Westside Theatre Eric Osbun
Whitebird Productions Kathryn Dickinson
York Theatre Company Jonathan Zautner

Click here for Resources